The Minor Prophets are only minor in their length.  Considered in their transcendent number of ’12’, they are witnesses, like the apostles, in history short enough to be contained on one scroll.  We have been thinking a lot about the Assyrian power, so here is a way of arranging the prophets by the Gentile powers under which they appeared:
1.  Assyrian Period (9th through 7th century BC):  Obadiah, Joel, Jonah, Hosea, Amos, (Isaiah), Micah, Nahum.
2.  Babylonian Period: (612 through 549 BC): Zephaniah, (Jeremiah), Habakkuk, (Daniel), (Ezekiel)
3.  Persian Period:  (549 BC through 433 BC):  Haggai, Zechariah, Malachi